top of page

Independent Judging Panel

An independent judging panel will decide the shortlist and winners in each category. Each panel member has been carefully chosen for their integrity, passion, and excellence in the field of journalism. All members of the independent judging panel are completely impartial.

The full judging panel will be announced in September 2023.


Claire Grady.jpg

Claire Grady, Chair of the Judging Panel

Judging Chair from 2022 will be joining us again for the Irish Journalism Awards 2023.

Claire Grady began her career as a journalist with the Mayo News, and worked on the Connaught Telegraph and the Tallaght Echo before joining Independent News and Media where she worked for almost 30 years.

She was a news reporter with both the Evening Herald and Irish Independent for over a decade and spent two years as a reporter with the Sunday Tribune before joining the the Irish Independent newsdesk under the editorship of the late Vinnie Doyle.
Claire was appointed Executive Editor of the Evening Herald in 2006, a role which included commissioning columnists and being opinion editor.
She was appointed editor of the Herald in 2012, and editor of the Irish Independent in 2013, a post she held for a year. She retains a keen interest in the production and presentation of news and is an occasional contributor to radio and television news review programmes.


bottom of page